The browser you are using may not support basic Web standards. Please upgrade your browser and support the Web Standards Project.
Jump to the navigation
Browse by Family Name:
 A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   Y   Z 
Marcus Goddard

Marcus Goddard currently has 36 works in his catalog, including four recent pieces for large orchestra and works for various chamber ensembles. Marcus received his undergraduate training from the University of Michigan and pursued graduate studies at Indiana University. He has participated in seminars with William Bolcom, William Albright and Krystof Penderecki and has attended lectures of Philip Glass and Samuel Adler. Marcus is an associate composer with the Canadian Music Centre and a member of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra.

His most recent work, I Send Only Angels, was commissioned by the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra and premiered in February 2007 with Roberto Minczuk conducting. Critics, musicians and audience members praised the work, commenting on its “shimmering, translucent, winning eloquence” and “perfectly judged” form and structure. Due to the critical acclaim of this premiere, l'Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal has programmed I Send Only Angels for performance in November 2007.

Recent performances of other orchestral works include the Vancouver Symphony’s performances of My End is My Beginning and Stay on the Sea and the Victoria Symphony’s performance of Angels. Goddard’s Voices Rising for chamber ensemble was premiered by the Turning Point Ensemble (Vancouver) in March 2006 and again performed at the Symphonic Orchestra Academy of the Pacific (Powell River, BC) by members of the Chicago, Columbus, Vancouver and Victoria Symphony Orchestras. Voices Rising was also broadcast on CBC, where Marcus’ music can frequently be heard.

Several of his works for small ensemble have been written specifically for brass instruments, including Supernovas Collide, Exothermic (trumpet and piano trio), Millennia Music (brass quintet) and Converging Lines (brass quartet). His brass quartet Desolation Sounds was premiered by members of the Chicago and Vancouver Symphony Orchestras in 2005. Goddard composed and produced the score to the film, Breakfast at Sharkey’s, and has composed two modern dance works, which were staged in Indiana. Other recent works include Reflections on Slayton Pond for flute and piano, commissioned by the Minneapolis duo, Sarabande.


Back to Top

Canadian Music Centre