The browser you are using may not support basic Web standards. Please upgrade your browser and support the Web Standards Project.
Jump to the navigation
Browse by Family Name:
 A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   Y   Z 
David Dahlgren

David Dahlgren was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba on the 18th of August,

1947  He obtained a B. Mus. in composition from the University of Manitoba and a B. Ed. from the University of Winnipeg. After teaching for a number of years he continued his studies in composition at the University of Leeds.

Published work includes music for piano, voice, choir, strings, and woodwinds (flute and clarinet.) The compositions for piano, that are written specifically for children, range in difficulty from pre Grade I to Grade X; however, he has also written piano concert music (much of which has been premiered by Claudette Caron) that has been performed in North America and Europe.  His music is listed in The Royal Conservatory of Music, Conservatory Canada, Contemporary Showcase, and provincial festival syllabi across Canada.  His music published by Alberta Keys, Blis and Julyn Publications.

Much of Mr. Dahlgren’s music was recently performed at a summer institute at the

arts facility at Mt. Orford, PQ where he was invited to be composer-in-residence where his Scherzo for violin and piano was premiered. In April, 2002. His

Sinfonietta I for Baroque Orchestra was premiered by the Regina Symphony Orchestra at The New Music Festival in Regina.

Recently, he has been working on music for violin solo, piano duet, piano solo and  chamber orchestra, and chamber music for flute and piano and tuba and piano.  His Sonata for Flute and Piano was premiered by the Ford/Caron Duo in December 12th, 2002 at St. Matthew‚s Cathedral‚s Te Deum Concert Series.  The New Music Festival in Regina will again feature a number of Dahlgren’ s compositions. As well as two settings of John V. Hicks poetry and a piano piece called Hoedown on a Night Train, there will be a piece commissioned by John Griffiths, the principal tuba for the Regina Symphony. The piece, Folkvisor av vikingarna (Folksongs of the Vikings) is for tuba and either piano or string  orchestra and is dedicated to Margit Landberg.

For the last number of years Mr. Dahlgren has been a member of The Canadian  Music Centre and he is involved with their Music for Young Musicians commissioning program. He is on the board of The Canadian Association of Piano Technicians who are now donating money for one of the prizes for the CFMTA Piano Competition.

He lives in Moosomin, Saskatchewan where he works as a composer, piano technician, and teacher.


Back to Top

Canadian Music Centre